Showing posts with label black dog. Show all posts
Showing posts with label black dog. Show all posts

Wednesday, July 1, 2009

Arlo and Gracie move in

Our new fosters moved in Monday, June 22. They were born under the floor of an abandoned house in Waxhaw. There were 8 in their litter. Mom is a black lab mix who our group is still trying to catch. The other siblings are in other foster homes and doing well, except for one who seems to have some health issues.

Since mom frequented the dumpsters at fast food restaurants, we named this litter the "Fast Food Puppies" and at first they had names like Bojangles and Big Mac. We named the two we took in Arlo and Gracie. Arlo looks like he's paid a few too many visits to the buffet line at Alice's Restaurant! (Note: you have to be over 50 to get that one!)

Both went to PetSmart for an adoption event with a rescue group on Saturday and everyone loved them! We got a great application for Arlo and did a home visit that afternoon. The next day he went for a week's trial and today I received the message that they want to make him a permanent part of their family! YAY! He has a puppy pool, a big back yard, 3 doggie friends to play with and learn from, and a wonderful mom and dad. He new name is Bear!

Gracie is a sweet little girl, full of fun and all dressed in black. We're having fun with her, and she's doing very well, sleeping through the night, and behaving in her play pen. She probably won't be with us for long!

Here are their photos:

ARLO


GRACIE

Tuesday, April 14, 2009

Not enough time

In rescue we see this story played over and over, thousands of times every day. A new baby arrives, or a new job, a new boyfriend or girlfriend, the cute little puppy is now an adult, and suddenly there's "not enough time" for him. So their owners take them to the shelter to be killed. Owner surrenders can be killed before the owners even get back in their car. Here's one dog's perspective of "not enough time".

Dear Mom and Dad,

This is Blackie writing you. Betcha didn't know I could write, huh? Well, I can. Anyways I wanted to write you a quick email to let you know I'm not mad anymore and I understand. I was really mad when you brought me here to the Shelter. You told them you didn't have enough time for me. I was mad because I didn't think I took that much of your time. I mean I know the baby takes a lot of time, but really all you needed to do was give me food and water every day, make sure I get my heartworm medicine every month, and my shots once a year. I mean it was max 5 minutes a day. And when you had a few minutes to pet me and toss a ball for me to play with - well that was great. (You know you spent more time on me the day you took me to the Shelter than any other day I can remember.)

I was really really mad that day. See, I really didn't have a lot of stuff to do and no deadlines to meet so I really had no idea what "not enough time" means.

But I understand now. I have the same problem. See, I have just 24 hours to find a rescue. And I'm really scared that's not "enough time". After all, they don't know how good a dog I am. They don't know that I am a loyal companion - that I listen really great and that I love to walk in the dog park. And that more than anything else I want to have someone who will play with me, and tell me what a good dog I am. Did you know that I really love to have my ears brushed? And that I'm a spaniel? That's ok - I didn't either. I learned that here from a girl named Taryn. She's cool. She's even trying to get me some more time.

Well, I'd better hurry. I don't have "enough time" to really write this well. I have to really pray hard that God finds me a rescue. Because I don't have "a lot of time" left right now. My new friend in the dog run next to me ran out of time yesterday. I hope I'm not next.

Anyways I'm not mad anymore. I know what it means not to have enough time.

High Paws!
Blackie

Saturday, January 24, 2009

Yellow lab: the new "in" dog

Movies and TV shows have always shaped our lives by dictacting fashions and trends, what's "in" and what's not. Unfortunately movies even affect our decisions about which type of dog to add as our new family members.

Think back to popular dogs.. Lassie, Rin Tin Tin, Benji, Papi the chihuahua. And this year's popular movie, "Marley and Me".

My husband and I volunteer as animal rescuers. We foster puppies, give them a safe home, love them, then find them wonderful, loving, permanent adoptive homes. We love black or black and white dogs. Partly because black dogs are less desired by the public, and have the highest euthanasia rate in shelters.

My guess is that breeders are already starting to pump out yellow lab puppies like Carter's little liver pills.

As a rescuer, I know what that means. In 6 months or a year, the shelters will be packed with yellow labs that people got when it was in vogue, and got rid of when they realized what energetic little hellions they can be without the proper exercize, discipline, and affection. So as soon as no one is interested in yellow labs any more, rescue groups will have a bumper crop of them.

Don't get me wrong. I love ALL dogs. I love yellow labs. What I don't love is that a living animal is treated as an in style, must-have accessory.

Don't breed or buy while shelter animals die!